Some people prefer to spend most of their time alone. Others like to be with friends most of the time. Do you prefer to spend your time alone or with friends? Use specific reasons to support your answer.

A myriad of factors can be responsible for whether some people spend most of their time alone or in a company of friends. Some people are very shy and do not like noisy companies. It prevents them from active communication. Conversely, other people are socially adept and they need to share their emotions and energy with others. Therefore, the latest prefer to hang out mostly with friends. I personally tend to spend most of my time alone. There are a few reasons why I feel this way.

First of all, I feel quite comfortable when I am alone. The reason for that is that I am a very creative person. I like spending my leisure time not on the couch in front of TV, but in a process of making something with my hands. To be clear, I enjoy decorating my house. Moreover, a lot of the decorations I make by myself. For example, the last project I was working on, was a set of pictures crafted from pieces of wood, metal nails, and yarn. For me, it was a very unusual project because I have never done something like that before. I was so fascinated by the work and could not wait to finish it out. Although sometimes I feel demand in personal communication with friends, I always keep myself busy and can easily spend weeks without the connection. To that end, the creative nature of mine makes me never feel bored even when nobody is around.

Secondly, recently I spend a lot of time alone since I do not have many friends here, in the United States. I moved to the U.S. three years ago and did not meet someone, who could become a close friend of mine. Some people are able to make friends very easily, unfortunately, I am not this kind of person. It takes a long time for me to feel comfortable around new people to start sharing my thoughts and emotions. In other words, I am a pretty introverted person. Plus, the language barrier and the cultural difference sometimes prevent me from socializing in the new environment. For instance, when I just got my first job in the Unites States, I could not build a friendship with my colleagues because I simply did not understand what they were saying or jokes they made. Even today, when my English has improved dramatically, sometimes, it is still difficult for me to comprehend the informal speech of the native speakers. So, the absence of close friends makes me be alone most of the time.

To conclude, I am one of the people who spend most of their time alone. This is because I have always had something to do and have never got bored and because at the place I am living now, I do not have friends to share free time with