Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

Begging for money is often seen as an unfortunate event and people usually shows sympathy for such people on streets. Its difficult to imagine but anybody can end-up on street and might beg for their living. Though, they look genuine at first but we should always take extra precautions to make a good judgement, that, whether someone is really begging due to their financial broke-down or they are exposed to some other threat. So, in general, I do not believe that giving money to beggars is a good idea and there are several reasons for that.

First, these beggars can be a part of large scale of criminal business which relies on handicapped people or kids on streets. I have personally seen this in India, that how kids are used in this business and how they are forced to remain to be a part of it. For example: there is criminal gang in Mumbai, India. They usually abduct childrens from many part of India and force them to beg on streets of mumbai, so that at the end of the day they can bring money for their owners. Mostly these kids are abducted from poor families, who are unable to extend search for their child because of monetary insuffiecieny. Also these kids are kidnapped at very small age, so they do not have any memory of their home, thus can not return to their home. Though, state police are trying to stop these activities but these kids are trained well to not to speak anything against their owners. Despite, these criminal lives in very posh area.

Second, if a person is forced to beg on street due their financial condition then, one should always extend help to provide food or clothing first, instead of money. These people on street, sometimes use money to buy drugs and often, these drugs are main reason that they end-up on streets. Such activities might lead to crimes in city.

Third, People who offer food to beggars always should ensure their own saftey first. Sometimes, beggars can ask for money on highway where you have to stop your vehicle to provide your support or food. These situations are very vulnerable and might lead to an unfortunuate event. For example: Crimial might act like a beggar and ask for help. The moment you reach to them, they might attack you and loot you, or may be worse, can kill you.

In my point of view, if anybody is facing a financial issues and they have to beg for their survival then they should ask for any small job in return to the favor they received in the form of money. Though, I personally do not offer any money, but I pray for their well being.