some people think that it is best for extended families (including grandparents, aunts and uncles, cousins, etc.) to live together. Other people think that is best for the nuclear family (parents and children only) to live away from the extended family. Which type of family living arrangement do you think is the most beneficial? Use specific reasons to support your response

In some culture, it is common to live together in the extended family (which includes grandparents, parents, cousins, uncles, and aunt), while in other cultures they prefer to live in a nuclear family which includes only parents and children. In my culture, we live together in the extended family. Living in the extended family has many benefits which are getting help from each other in daily works also it helps to maintain family traditions.

First of all, living in an extended family is beneficial because it helps family members with their day-to-day works. For example, when I was at school I was so busy with my studying because my major was science. I could not participate well in some works, so my cousins were helping me a lot in daily work. Consequently, I helped them with their school assignments and lessons. In addition to that, the extended family can also help members of the family in children raising. Back in my childhood, my parents had government jobs, so they were too busy and they could not find enough time to take care of me and my sister. My grandparents helped my parents in taking care of me. My grandfather raised me and the other boys in my family and help us a lot during our childhood with learning basic knowledge at school. My grandmother was taking care of girls whether my sister or cousins, because of them our parents had enough time for their jobs.

Secondly, living in an extended family can maintain family traditions, because grandparents can pass the family tradition to their young children. Then young children would transfer it to their children. In this way, we can easily keep and deliver our cultural tradition to our grandchild. For instance, I know about my origin and root because my grandparents told us about them when we were a child. They said our family moved from Poland to New York City and my grandfather name was Carson, that is why my full name is John Carson. Moreover, our ancient language was polish unfortunately I cannot speak it very well, but my grandparents can still speak it very well.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that living in the extended family is more beneficial than living in the nuclear family. Because we can get help from each other in the extended family whether it is helping in the daily task or in raising kids. Furthermore, the extended family saves family traditions and pass them to the next generation.