Think critically about the following statement. A universal language should replace all languages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of a universal language.

Language is an important media for people to communicate and socialize with each other. We communicate ideas and understand each other with the help of words. The variety of different languages ranging from national and traditional language is astonishing. However, recently some people proposed that one universal language should be established and would replace all the other languages. Although it may have some advantages, I believe that unifying languages into a universal one will erode the cultural diversity of human’s world.

Unifying language is beneficial for common standards. People who haven’t acquired any languages knowledge will start to learn the same language. Newborn babies, toddlers and children from different countries will start learn the same grammars and language structure. Common standards can also happen in the workplace. For example, every job advertisement will require candidates to possess only one universal language. Language will no longer be a barrier for everyone. People will be more confident to travel, study or work outside their home countries because they don’t have to learn foreign language.

However, universal language will potentially erode nation’s cultural and historical value. Most of the times, language had been established before a country was established. Therefore nation’s language has rich intrinsic value about the origin of a country. National languages are also a form of collective memory of a society. If universal language replaces them, it is like forcing people to abandon their nation’s history and memory.

Moreover, national languages are deeply attached with the description of each country and region. One country might have several traditional languages that able to describe its unique cultural elements. For example, Indonesia have more than 100 traditional languages that able to provide knowledge about its region’s values, arts and other social norms.

In conclusion, despite the major benefit of universal language, integrating languages into one will definitely harm the country’s cultural and historical values. So I believe that reducing the variety of languages into one is not a wise action.