Social rules play an important role in every society, but whether or not the rules for young people are reasonable can be controversial. Some people believe that social rules for young people today are too strict, while others think they are reasonable. I believe that social rules for young people are not only reasonable, but good, because they help young people behave themselves and prevent them from hurting themselves.

First and foremost, social rules exist as a way to instruct young people in proper conduct. For example, society expects young people to go to school every day and spend most of their day studying—this is to his or her own benefit. If this rule didn’t exist, young people might waste all their time playing video games or participating in other unimportant activities instead of spending their time learning how to read, write, and do mathematics. In this way, social rules help young people to use their time well and make good preparations for the future.

Another reason that social rules are good for young people is that they protect them from hurting themselves. As has always been the case, young people today are likely to make foolish decisions if they do not have rules that set clear boundaries for their behaviors. For example, many students today get involved in drugs. Without rules against these substances, even more students would try these things. Drugs can do long-term damage to young people's futures because their minds and bodies can be severely damaged; some even die from overdosing. Good parents will always emphasize the insurmountable importance of schoolwork and remind their kids that sports and games are only a way to release stress from studies. Social rules should therefore not be seen as strict and restrictive, but as good guides for young people that are in place to help both the individual as well as society as a whole.