TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

If the university is juggling which sectors should provide it with more funds libraries or social activities. The University should spend less money in libraries and keep spending more money in sports and activities. While it is true that libraries have contributed to the students as social institutions where students help each other, serving the students who enjoy reading or want to experience classes for free. One can not deny that is obviously valuable to spend more money on sports and activities when it comes to keeping them healthy, learning many valuable things, gaining more skills.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that sports are helping the students to keep healthy. Nowadays, there are a lot of excuses for not doing exercises because of space, time, and health problems. No matter what circumstances the people have they should keep healthy by taking few mints to do exercises. The students spend most of their time at school doing assignments, making researchers, and attending classes. They need some time to relax and relieve their stress. So offering sports team at school will provide them the chance to do some exercises to relieve their stress. Some times being stressful causes a lot of diseases such as high blood pressure, heart attack and so on. Therefore sports are the best preventative medicine from any diseases. If the students are healthier, the life will go on fighting with the other problems they will face in their life, if not; their life will go on fighting with the health problems.

Another reason that deserves more words is that sports teams are the easiest way to access the real society where they can deal with different students having different cultures’, interests’ languages’. As the result, they can learn many valuable skills such as how to deal with the variety of people, try to please everyone that help them to develop good communication skills, all of that will benefit them in the real adult life to make new friends easily. On top of that, they can learn many valuable experiences such as how to be co-operative as many skills should be divided among individual, no one can win the game alone, no matter how fast he is, how strong he is, everyone should co-operate to win the game, which is valuable experience in their future career. For example, I remember when I was in pharmacy school, I participated in soccer ball team, I remember all my teammates were not selfish everyone cooperates with each other to win the game, the aims’ of everyone is the same main goal of the team. I learned how to help other, and the importance of cooperation. When I grew up and worked as a pharmacist in bigger company Pfizer. I co-operated with my coworker to finish the work in a timely manner that helped to make a productive work.

Admittedly, some people hold the opposite side which is the university should spend more money in the libraries and classes since the libraries provide many benefits to students in which they can find the books they need to get the knowledge. Therefore, they should update the library with the most recent books to help the students get the most updated information. In addition, some students were not able to buy the books they need since it is very expensive, however, the library provides them the chance to get books for free, and provide them a chance to use the computers to access the internet for free. So without the top-notch library, there will not be any academic progress at the school.

As all things considered, even if the libraries provide many benefits, people can live in a lack of libraries; thereafter, they try to find an alternative to the library such as e-books. However, when it comes to the benefits of sports and activities are more valuable than the libraries since the acquaintance of skills and experiences and keeping us healthy.