TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

For two decades, it is always a hot debate on universities’ budget and how to spend it. Some administrators believe that university is a symbol of learning and teaching. So, the money should not be spent on trivial activities which is not related to education. On the other hand, some others think that even sports and social activities are related to education and can determine future success.

First of all, today it is proved that sound mind is in sound body. Recent studies in Harvard University show that students who participate in sport are less vulnerable to minor or major physical diseases like flu and heart failure. If we understand that sport can reduce the rate of flu and sore throat significantly, we would agree that students have more quality of time to study, instead of staying in bed. Therefore, the direct effect of sports and social activities is better grades and scores.

Furthermore, psychologists confirm that depressed patients cannot participate in any activity because they have no motivation and no energy to join others. Happy and optimistic people are those who have strong relationships with friends and family and have some fun in their life. These connections later help them to be successful more and more. They have somewhere to empty their negative emotions and raise their spirits to continue their education. Thus, for a salubrious society who are eager to cooperate together we have to start from university and help them to increase their communication skills.

Admittedly, most important part of a university is its classes and library because top students make their decisions to go to a university which can strengthen their knowledge. Still, I support equal financial for all activities. Since if we do not so, after some years, the rate of suicide in universities is more than graduation.

Due to aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, focusing on classes and libraries improvement and putting aside sports and social activities have some significant negative consequences which are unforgivable.