TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In any relationship, always telling the truth should be the utmost priority. Without truthfullness, any relationship is prone to falling apart. One would need to know the importance of telling the truth, and the dangers of neglecting this fact, to appreciate the discussion.

Firstly, it must be said that truthfullness is a virtue. By nature, we do not like to be deceived and we abhor those who deal in deception. Consider the many origin or mythical stories found in various cultures. In many of those stories, we see deceptive figures, whom the hero of the story will need to face against. Often times adhering to the decepitve figure’s advice results in catastrophic consequences for the hero of the story. It is to show that we, as human beings, value truthfullness beyond anything, and we like to hear the truth and to not be misled.

Perhaps more imporant than the consequences that one’s lie brings upon the people around him, are the many vile fibers that are sewed into a person’s very core and existence. There may be people who have never lied even once. But there certainly are no people who have lied only twice. One lie begs for a train of lies to follow. To cover up a lie, one would need to make additional lies, sometimes even getting lost in his or her own fabricated story. How would one continue to live a healthy life if he or she starts on this path of doom?

In a relationship, the matter is even more complicated. In a relationship, there are expectations from both sides. And as said before, by our nature, we expect the other person to be truthfull. In fact, it is a prerequisite in many relationships and while not written on paper in many cases, remains one of the very basic expectations. If I cannot ensure that the other person is telling me the truth or not, how then, would I even begin to communicate with that person? Say, that person is facing an issue. How can I be of any help when the truth of the matter is not laid before me in the first place? The fact that truthfullness, is evidently a condition in many relationships, makes it all the more important.

In conclusion, being truthfull in any relationship is of great importance and should be the first priority and expectation. For truthfullness is a virtue that none of us can do without. A disregard for it can bring grave consequences. In any relationship, there needs to be an agreement on telling the truth first and foremost so that proper communication between the people in said

relationship can be accomplished and the their various problems adressed and hopefully solved.