TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning is a great tool to gain knowledge, skills and insights. I strongly agree, that it is important for student to understand ideas and concepts rather than it is for them to learn facts. Students, however, should also learn some facts in some other ways. Students goes to school to learn different aspect of learning not merely understanding on ideas and concepts but merely understanding to learn facts on whatever they learn and study of any topics. There are advantages and disadvantages on a certain reasons I will discuss on my essay.

In my view, Knowing the ideas and concept of a certain subject or topic play a significant role on a learning process of being a student. Why? because, ideas and concepts can enhance and develop your intelligence and capability of being a student in that way, student can built a strong foundation as student by gaining knowledge and able to apply that knowledge when they find a job or the field of expertise. For example, when I was in college, we were ask by our professor to do a oral presentation on a certain topic such as any medical diagnosis that can co-relate on our course having a degree on physical therapy. Our professor has given us a topic entitle as "The differential diagnosis of Frozen shoulder". In this topic, me together with my group mate we did research in the library and went to places ( hospitals, clinics etc..) and findings what is really the cause and effect of having a frozen shoulder on a patient? Is their any treatment with the diagnosis? By knowing the ideas and concept of this diagnosis you will come up with a meaningful and able to get the importance of having a frozen shoulder. This can be more advantageous to student. By knowing the facts, student can only remember the superficial meaning of the diagnosis.

Another reason is that, going to school can be the best place to learn ideas and concept with the aid and assistance of the teachers/professors in that way, they can share their knowledge to their students. Teachers/professors are the ones who commit themselves to students in that way, they can be consider a good mentor that eventually, the students will thank them for what they taught to their student. For example, in own person experience, when I was studying for college my professors taught me how to become a good public servant in my field of study in physical therapy, in which I was able to apply my knowledge when I find a job to be a good health worker, my professor taught me to become compassionate and be caring to my patients. Therefore, I was able to remember what they taught in school ,most especially, the ethics of my field of practice as a health worker. Learning ethics that is very common in any medical field plays a significant role in each medical worker, as a medical professionals, it requires 100 % dedication on caring on an individual who get sick and needs care.

As I conclude my essay, The most important in learning is to learn some ideas and concepts for a better understanding of the subject as well as, any such topic given, However, student should also learn some facts in that way, they can get some insights of the topic or subject.