TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Perhaps, no century witnessed more progress in technology than the 20th century did. Not surprisingly, public awareness regarding the impacts on this trend has increased significantly over the last decades. Some people have been argued that it causes children to be less creative. While I do not tend to refute such a view, I believe it can not be generalized to all cases.

The first point to support this is that maturity and fast pace of technology, accompanied with different applications, have paved the ways for a wide range of facilities which lead to boost people's intelligence. In the past, children could only play chess or bridge with their peers. Nowadays, thanks to World Wide Web and internet, one can challenge with other players in complicated games at different stages such as professional or non-professional ones. In addition, by stimulating real life in some practical applications, individuals unconsciously have to enhance their thinking skills as to be successful in this harsh competitive environment.

Another benefits obtained from growing use of technology is higher degree of creativity. It should be noted that, compared to the past, the ubiquity of various sources such as e-books and online libraries, have pave the way for acquisition a higher level of knowledge. As it is commonly perceived in every society, the more accessible source of knowledge it is, the more well-educated people will be. Therefore, via advances in technology, not only can one obtain more how-well but also the possibility for transmitting the knowledge to practical experiment, known as creativity, will be increased.

Some might argue that the massive media such as TV might hinder people's innovation. This assumption is based on this fact that TV's audiences are usually passive viewer instead of being involved in mutual interaction. This view has some flaws. Needless to say, some new channels like Discovery or some beneficial televised shows such as Quiz show have provided abysmal of data which children can use them to flourish their creativity skills.

According to what have been discussed, this is over-simplistic to say that technology can be regarded as an obstacle in human intelligence. As it was stated, various configuration of play and accessibility of knowledge are both positive technology impacts upon one's creativity.