TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the world of globalization and modernization, our society witnessed and experienced a radical change in every aspect of our lives. People have made significant achievements to make the world a place to live. When it comes to, whether the technology has made our children less creative or not has aroused much controversy among the people. Some contend that these technologies hinder students' thinking ability thus it will lead them to be lazy, and not possessing the ability of creativity. However, from my perspective and actual observation of the life makes me believe that the improvement of the technology has been changed the students 'capabilities, and lead them to acquire many skills and experience which enable them to leach their imagination and creativity.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the children can take advantage of the technology as a tool to create something new that may benefit the society later. If I took a minute to ponder over it, the famous example that comes into my mind immediately is Bill Gate who was curious to know the mysterious function of the computer; he spends most of his time doing the program at school to know all the secrets of the machine. Within just a few years, he started his own business at a small garage while he was at the school. He was able to invent new software which helped him to be a successful businessman when he grew up. He designed the windows and many revolutionary products that contribute significantly to his progress. As you can see, the technology helped him to be an innovative man. What is more, the technology opened many doors for the children to explore new world since the technology enabled them to broaden their horizon through getting much information from the internet, listen to many news, and programs on the TV. Thus, the children become open-minded at a very young age which is the best source of inspiration to be creative. Let say there are many Photoshop programs which enable children to create a design, overture to compose music, and 3DMAX to build a virtue world. Therefore, they can sign the difference of their interest and choose the what they like to do to get success, in another word, when they find their interests; they would to make it efficiently that for sure will enable them to possess the talent of creativity.

Another salient point in corroborating my stance is that with the development of the technology, The education department provided the school with many types of equipment to enable students to explore and learn with a full enthusiasm which is the base of creation. To elucidate more clearly on this point, the facilities that provided by the education department enable students to put the theories into the reality; thus, the students are more likely to learn more through getting a lot of practical knowledge which builds their curiosity. I will give myself as a compelling example; I remember when I was in high school, the advanced stuff which was provided in the chemistry lab incite my interest to do many experiments. Therefore, these tests enabled me to increase my intellectual ability and motivate me to attend Pharmacy school. When I enrolled in the pharmacy school, I have an incentive to discover drugs to cure cancer diseases to help my mom who was suffering from it owing to, the curiosity that built during a high school, and my research is still going till now until I create the best drug. From what I mentioned, the modern technologic is the base of creation.

The last but not the least, there are nowadays many advanced gadgets at the children fingerprint such as cell phone, computer, and video camera. All of these staff facilitate the communication among the people who turn the world into a global village, in other words, each culture can learn from the others and children can acquire skill, experiences, and information from the others which stimulate the creative ability of anyone. What is more, children can play many video games that sometimes people think it harmful recreation since they isolate them from the parents because the children would like to spend much time on it. However, I believe that these games increase the analytical ability of the children as some game like "blocks" lead them to think first before they act. That is why this talent considered as an incentive for the children to be creative.

As all things considered, this advanced stuff is not hindering the children' thinking ability, but the opposite is right when it comes to open their eye to a wide variety of knowledge, increasing their cognitive ability, and facilitating communication among children.