TPO 10 Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Even though there is a notion that computer games have mostly negative effects on children, I subscribe to the theory that not only aren't they a way to waste time, but they are a useful way to enhance some characteristics in children as well. My reasons for opposing the mentioned issue are as follows.

First of all, children are full of energy, and a safe place is required for them to free all of their excitement. Therefore, I believe computer games have provided them with a great opportunity to actively fulfill their needs inside a virtual world without noticeable harmful consequences. For example, when I was young, I loved playing horror video games; these games were quite frightening, and I was amused in an energetic environment, where I could survive through a challenging and horrid world. However, it could have been perilous if I had wanted to have such experience in the real world.

Furthermore, most video games enhance some capabilities in children. As a piece of evidence, shooting games encourage children to learn how to focus thoroughly on a particular object. I think the ability to concentrate on a subject for a long time is one of the foremost required skills for students to continue their higher levels of study. Other genres might bring about additional expertise according to their functionalities.

Finally, video games significantly demonstrate the recent advances in technology. The more recent the video game is, the more complicated visual effects and high-end technology are incorporated in them. Accordingly, the children are likely to be curious about the science and technology behind the games, and they might be interested in exhaustively pursuing their study in order to be involved in the latest advances in technology. Numerous study majors are linked in the video game industry which young children might be encouraged to follow, such as computer graphics, software and hardware engineering, mechanical engineering, and so forth.

With all being said, I am supporting the merits of playing video games, and I think the benefits of playing them outweigh its drawbacks for children. However, we should be aware of the consequences caused by excessive exposure to this games, specifically violent ones due to the fact that long term interaction of kids with the virtual world could have severe outcomes for our next generation.