TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people have a good relationship with their extended family and they consider them as a valuable instrument to live better. This brings us an arguable question whether the extended family loss its importance at present time or not. As far as I'm concerned, I am of opinion that extended family is not important than past. The reasons behind this point of view will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, people intend to spend their leisure time with only their wife and children. Nowadays, in fact, people go to cinema to watch a movie together with their friends not with his cousin. They buy tickets merely for their children and wife when they travel to other country in summer vacations. However, in past, individuals took a journey with their grandparents because they believed in grandparents brings enjoyment for them in trip. Therefore, all of these determine that people's interest is not for spending their free time with grandparents, aunts and so forth and the extended family lose its importance in today's people life.

The second reason that support my viewpoint about extended family lose its importance is that people lose connection with their grandparents, uncles and aunts. This is because individuals currently are really busier than past and spend their whole day at job in order to gain money and after their arrive from their job, if they are not tired, they dedicate some time for helping to their children in their education such as giving help to do children's school assignments. However, individuals do not pay attention to their grandparents whether to see they are healthy or not. People do not spend time to meet their cousins, instead spend time with being with their wife and children. Therefore, people in the twenty-one century live in such a condition in which they disregard to existence of grandparents, cousins and so forth.

The last reason, humankinds do not help when they want to make decisions. Humankinds in the time of deciding to which places and countries travel they decide solely and make a plan for their trip with their wife rather than with their uncles or aunts. People who want to get married with somebody do not consult their uncles or aunts in order to get assistance and advice from them, while in the past, adults consulted their aunt about partner of their future life. Moreover, nowadays juvenile do not speak with their uncles before deciding to choose a university major in order to gain information related to situation of marketplace of academic subjects, whereas when my generation in past sought advice of uncles, cousins or aunts in their serious decision making. So, as you can see, subjects do not get assistances in the time of making important decision from their grandparents, cousins, aunts or uncles.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned reasons, I would say that human-being’ life was encountered many changes. One of the changes is that roles of the extended family is faded, because of spending their spare time with their own families, losing connection with grandparents and cousins and so forth and because of not making decisions.