TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

According to scientists the name of the this era is communication. Nowadays, people can communicate other people and find friend more easily. Some people believe the idea that the extended family members are still important; others disagree. In my view, extended family is not important today. Moreover, members of extended family were more important in the past. The reasons are as follows.

First, nowadays, thanks to the technology people can find easily friends and that makes extended family members unimportant. Today, there are plenty of smart phone apps that helps people to find friends. In previously finding friends was a not easy that force to talk their extended family and that makes extended family crucial. For example, even though we are in the same family, me and my cousin are completely different likes such as I enjoy basketball however, he likes soccer. But thanks to smart phone application I can find another person who has basketball. So I do not have to hang out with my cousin. All in all, same family does not mean everything. Thanks to some application today people can meet other people who likes same tastes. That makes extended family unimportant.

Second, previously people live with their extended family members in the same house, today it is nearly impossible. Previously, houses were huge and people share the same house with their extended family that makes extended family important. However, today houses are very small and obviously people do no share same houses with their extended family members. For instance, my grandfather stated previously they lived with their aunts, cousins together. Besides, he see their cousins as their brothers or sisters. On the other hand, today I do not know even my cousins name. They probably live in Canada. We are not even share the same city. So, people previously share the same house but today it is very rare. That situation show today extended family less important than before.

To sum up, some people may oppose the idea that extended family less important than before. Not only, technology make the extended family less important but also people are not share same house with their extended family. In general, people should not see the people as family member or not, people see the other people as good people and bad people.