TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The family is one of the first groups that when an individual was born in the respective household, spontaneously becomes a member of it. A family is not confined in parents and their children, in fact it consists of parents of parents, parents' siblings, parents' siblings' children as cousins, and the list goes on with further relatives. Therefore, the word 'family' is converted to 'extended family'. Some people agree that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past, others disagree. Even though The extended family is beneficiary for people in their childhood because children play with their relatives as they are their first friends and playmates, in my view, nowadays it is less important than the past because of two important reasons.

First, youngsters of current era prefer to live on their own rather than spend time with the expanded family. Due to the contemporary living trends, people are not depending on each other compared to the past. Priorities in life change because the lifestyle alters progressively. For instance, one of the most significant factors that impacts young adults lifestyle is social network emergence. every person in a social network has many friends, which are not obligatory friends or family but friends who are chosen by themselves. People prefer to choose their friends and have the right to choose. This right and the permission to it has a direct effect on connection with family, which makes it less slight.

Second, unfortunately, no one should trust his/her family members like the past. Today, everybody becomes more sinister because of personally economic issues or the destructive desire to be ostentatious and pretentious. They may even defraud their own relatives for more benefit in return. For example, I remember my uncle who was trusted by his relatives. Someday he came up with an idea about investing in a company which provided goods. He deceived his brothers and sisters, which one of them is my father, to buy shares from this industrial corporation. When he succeeded in luring them to invest, he got the money from them which was an enormous quantity. He suddenly disappeared, He did not answer his phone, and no one had an idea where he was. Even we were worried that he might have had an accident or something. Later, we found out that our beloved uncle was a fraud, and he stole all the money and exited the country for his own sake. He destroyed all the faithfulness and loyalty that he gained in all these years by doing something vicious. This event learned me that even you share the same blood with your family members, they may be sinister and take advantage of you. Thus, trusting a friend may be better because you do not expect from a friend to be staunch.

Therefore, in this era, people are not reliable on the extended family and its members. They prefer to rely on their own.