TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I definitely agree that teachers are not supposed to make their social or political views known to students in the classroom and reasons are discussed as following.

First of all, teachers' influence on students is immense, so if they talk a lot about their social o r political views in the classroom, the students would be deeply affected by this. A good example of teacher's influence on students would be Socrates, Plato and Aristotle. All of the three were great philosophers in ancient Greece, and Socrates was Plato's teacher, who subsequently educated Aristotle. Although they have their own understandings of philosophy and of the world, their points of view are in accordance with each other in essence, clearly due to the relationship between the three. Plato even tried to protect his teacher, Socrate's philosophical views after he was executed.

Then one might ask why teachers are not expected to pass their social or political view to their students. Unlike mathematics and sciences, social and political views varies with people and with time, which only represent the views of a single person at a given time. So one's attitude towards society and politics would be narrow, shallow and even extreme if they receive a certain point of view from a teacher at a young age, which could hinder their further development.

What is more, the real mission of education is to make people capable of viewing the world in a right way, and the real mission of teachers is to cultivate independent thinkers other than their own followers. While mathematical formulas and scientific facts are settled, social and political views are dynamic and diversified. So it is necessary for students to learn maths and sciences from theaters, but when it comes to social and political views, another approach is desired. Instead of telling students their own point of views, teachers should tell students ways of thinking and observing, and should teach them different social and political views as many as possible. Only in this way can the students be intelligent and independent enough to form their own social and political views.

In conclusion, teachers' role in modern society is to cultivate a person that is knowledgeable, independent and free-thinking, thus directing telling them teachers' own social and political views in the classroom is not expected. On the contrary, teachers should teach students how to understand the world and form their own attitudes toward the world.