TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers in the classroom have a powerful effect on their students in every field. Students spend a lot of time with their teacher and might be their model in life. So, while some people encourage teachers to share everything with their students including their social and political perspectives, I oppose this concept. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, students in the age of school phase have not developed the skills of critical thinking yet. Therefore, if they heard their teachers' opinion about complicated issues like politics, They would mimic their attitude without full understandings. In contrary, I would encourage teachers to motivate pupils to discuss this material in order to have their own viewpoint. That would be the most beneficial thing to do. For example, my cousin told me that he spent a great time with his history teacher when he was in high school. His teacher guided and trained them to have various opinions on different historical events in the past and compared them to events that related to our contemporary time. That helped my cousin to have a significant opinion in such subjects because he had learned the skills of analyzing issues, in addition, he learned the critical thinking.

Secondly, teachers have a limited time to teach and deliver the requirements of information. However, the social and political events consume a lot of time to discuss during the class. These subjects could raise a debate that takes a long time to end. Furthermore, these events are renewable all the time. That means there would be always plenty of matters to talk about. So, I guess teachers should not share their opinions in such circumstances because it would affect the essential subjects that students have to learn.

To sum up, I strongly believe that teachers should not discuss their social or political opinions with their pupils. Because students would imitate these views without full comprehension. In addition, these kinds of subjects would consume a lot of students' time during their regular academic classes.