TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

I partially agree with the statement above. In adult life, one needs to own money by himself or herself, and needs to know how to communicate with different kinds of people. Many of the skills required can not be taught at school, and thus can not be learnt in classrooms. So having a part-time job can teach the youngsters how to be financially independent and how to get along with others.

To begin with, one of the biggest challenges young adults face is to feed themselves and to manage their fortune. Clearly schools can only teach knowledge, and the use of knowledge to earn money can only be learned by practice. By having a part-time job, not only can they experience the hardship to make a living by their own hands, but also can they learn to spend their income reasonably.

Secondly, taking a part-time job can teach the youngsters how to deal with others. Student meet friends and teachers on campus everyday, but we should remember that the relationship between people in school is different from that in society. During part-time work, teenagers can meet different sorts of people, thus picking up some skills on how to get along with others in an equal and friendly way. This is highly valuable for their further development in adulthood.

Nonetheless, one might say that taking a part-time job is likely to distract teenagers from their study at school. Indeed, doing so can interfere with one's study at some level, but it does not necessarily mean that students must totally be barred from work in part-time. It is exactly when parents are expected to offer guidance and surveillance. What is more, the students can also learn to arrange their time and to find a balance between study and work at the same time.

In conclusion, part-time job should be encouraged when teenage children are preparing for adult live, as long as it is overlooked by parents.