TPO-26 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific r

\Every parent would like to see their children successful in their career and life. The choice of field to work will influence the living standards and social status of an individual. There are two streams of mind when it comes down to select a profession; first one will be to follow footsteps of parents and second one is to carve your own path. There are advantages and disadvantages with both options, but I strongly believe following your own calling will drive you to become successful.

Most importantly, to become successful in any field, an individual must have the passion and love for that career. This will be the only force that will drive the career for years to come and become successful and to achieve the goal. I have seen numerous examples of people whose careers sore to high due to their dedication and passion, on the other hand some failed miserably due to lack of enough motivation. Having parents’ guidance and expertise will be highly beneficial for children to learn tips and tricks of any filed. This gives an added advantage to navigate in your career. But, at the same time with the development and advances in technology parent's knowledge may become outdated and will restrict the support.

Next, over the years the social status associated with the job may change and children will regret their decision when they see their friends at higher level. For example, few years back securing a government job and working there till retirement was an image of successful career, but with globalization and changing economy, young workforce have broader understanding and different approach for professional growth.

Lastly, no one can deny the fact that today's youth is under tremendous pressure to perform well in their studies, jobs as well as life. The competition is getting sever day by day. When children are measured against their successful parents, it puts unnecessary pressure on them to do better than parents. If a child is choosing a different career at least he won't have immediate competition at home and will get a chance to prove his or her mantle.

In conclusion, for aforementioned reasons, I am a big supporter of choosing a different career option than following parents' footsteps.