TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Not surprisingly, parents' intervention in their children's upbringing is set to play a pivotal role in today's human society. It has been argued that parents have been more involved in their children's educational activities compared to last decades. While I believe it can not be generalized to all cases, I tend to agree on such a view based on the following concerns.

The first point springs to mind is that nowadays the people's lifestyle has undergone lots of critical changes. Firstly, the extended family with large members gradually disappeared and instead, most families have only one child. In fact, parents have spent the most important portion of their lifetime to bring up a sole kid. Conspicuously, not only can parents allocate a higher attention to them but also they rarely have problem to meet their child financial or emotional requirements. In addition, most children live in an affluent family or at least, compared to the past, they take advantage of a greater level of welfare. Hence, these factors allow parent to interfere with children's educational problems as they consider that they should be informed of ever details of children's learning process.

Moreover, compared to the past generations, the parents' educational background have increased. In fact, most of the contemporary generation benefits of having well-educated parents. Since they have precious experience from being in the different educational environment such as school or university, they realize that their intervention might be beneficial for their children to solve their encountered difficulties. Furthermore, some parents strongly believe that their children always need an assistance of the "adult", as they are not mature enough to overcome educational obstacle.

Full engagement of parents in educational subjects might cause some negative consequences which old-days people seldom faced with them. The first one is that children with a high level of dependence might not able to build their self-reliant lifestyle and stand on their own feet. In this regard, parent intervention avoid children experiencing knowledgeable issue. Hence, they become less self-dependent compared to other students.

From what have been discussed, parents are now busier with their children's learning process. As it was mentioned, not only their lifestyle but also previous experience in educational environment have a great impact on this trend. However, this view is required some real attention because of its negative outcomes.