TPO 29

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on the salaries of university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is becoming more important every day. Schools always want their students to do well and are looking for ways to help them. The best way to assist them in achieving their academic goals is to pay professors higher salaries. Although better facilities and access to the latest technology are important, so are teacher salaries. I agree with the statement because in this way the university will attract the best candidates and the professors will feel respected.

People who have advanced degrees have many options when choosing employment. If private companies are offering much more money to these graduates, it will be hard for universities to attract top students. A friend of mine recently graduated from Harvard and took a job at Price-Waterhouse. He had considered working for a college, but decided to take the better paycheck. If, however, professors were paid higher salaries, more highly qualified graduates, like my friend, would choose to work in academia. This would ensure that students had access to the smartest and most talented professors possible.

In my country, education is not the most highly regarded field of employment. This is mainly due to the fact that teachers and professors don’t earn as much as doctors, lawyers or business people. Because money is so important in our society, it is often equated with success. If professors were more highly remunerated, they would receive more respect not only from students, but also from the society as a whole. Even if they don’t get more respect, at least they can have better living conditions. This alone will make them better educators.

Higher salaries for professors is the best way for schools to improve the quality of their services. Having the best teachers possible will allow the university and the students to develop in the best way.