TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

Since the dawn of the humanity, young people have been considered as the precious source of the society. In some societies, leaders do not let youngsters to participate in social events and have a share in taking vital decisions which have some effects on the future of the society. However, it is the opposite in some other communities. Although some people believe that today young adults have no influence on the important decisions that determined the future of the community, I have a different point of view. As far as I am concerned, I have a penchant for the standpoint that the young have an influential role in the decisions which related to the society's future. There are manifold reasons for holding that opinion, three of which are of paramount importance, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, the most striking reason why I support this view is the fact that young adults are now more involved in social issues than the past. By the advent of electronic devices and evolvement in technology, the young are more in touch with each other and as it is said the world changed to “a global village" which everybody knows about others. In this regard, the contribution of social media such as Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, to name but a few, should not be neglected on account of the fact that the society's issues are spread via these media as soon as possible.

Another reason for accepting this opinion has to do with more educated young people these days. It stands to reason that today there are quite a few youngsters pursuing higher education who are capable of proposing practical suggestions and paving the way for taking crucial decisions. Moreover, by galloping rate in spreading numerous universities around the world, more people are now cognizant of what happens in the society. On the other hand, in the past people tended to focus on making money for living, and they did not care about what will happen to their society in that they did not consider themselves as a member of the society.

Last but not least, nowadays young adults can be more effective in making a decision than the past. Today they can establish a campaign against or for something that harms or benefits the society thanks to the vast access to the social media. For instance, in Iran, there is a campaign that wants people not to use their cars one day of the week. With this in mind, the air pollution of the city will decrease. It is worth mentioning that nowadays young people are braver to express their ideas and thoughts than the past, and they can reach their goals using demonstration or other ways.

All in all, with all this taken into account, the young have had many effects on the society through the history. I vehemently subscribe to the view that young people now are more influential on the society's future than the past on the grounds that they have more access to the news, more educated, and have more effective ways than before. The young are always the precious treasures of a society which should be utilized in order to reach success.