TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.U

Not surprisingly, education has long been as the cornerstone of every human society. Due to different development in technology, the educational process and didactic environment have undergone excessive changes which have provoked a controversial issue. It has been argued that students' intervention in social networks or online games have a negative impact on their learning process. While I do not tend to refute such a view, I believe it can not be generalized to all cases.

The first point to support such a view is that the advent of the internet has paved the ways for a wide range of facilities in learning materials. Knowledge means obtaining information. In the past, there were limited ways for acquiring knowledge such as traditional libraries or published textbooks which most of them were not up-to-date. However, through smartphones, one can always access to endless information or abundant resources in just a few minutes. In fact, more online resource, e-book, or e-library help students to share required references more easily and quickly through social networks. Therefore, the methods of obtaining information have facilitated.

Moreover, through advances in social networks or cell phones, students can acquire different skills which are likely to be more accordant to the contemporary environment. In the past, due to the limitation in geographical distances, it was less significant to have a high level of social skill, and in fact, most children pursued their father's career. Not surprisingly, the job labor drastically changed. In today's environment, most employers are seeking for those applicants who not only are well-educated but also have a great command of different skills to deal with computer-based tasks or a high level of communicating. Furthermore, it should be noted that there are more strategic-based games which allow young generation to develop their critical thinking or organize their mindsets through plays. Hence, these all abilities seem essential for students to be prepared for their future career.

Despite these advantages, technology, every now and then, has been criticized for consuming children's time. Needless to say, whether the advent of a novelty can be beneficial is directly referred to people's use. If students have involved in computer games or social networks most of the time, there is a little doubt that they might not meet their teachers' requirements. Meanwhile, over-dependence on these kinds of networks might make them indifferent to their surroundings or primary responsibilities. However, some monitored treatments from parents might be regarded as a remedy for these kinds of problems.

From what have been discussed, the ubiquity of the internet and other communication devices have different redeeming features. As it was mentioned, not only can it be known as a notable source of information but also the requirements in today's world has made children be involved in these advances.