TPO 37 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Many people nowadays spend too much money on their pets dogs cats or other animals although there are better uses for this money Use specific reasons and examples to sup

Humans have always been bond to animals in various ways. Our forefathers looked at animals as a meal, by the time, we domesticated some species as continuous nutrition source. Later on, some species were domesticated for other applications as protection or support on working tasks. Nowadays, there is no longer a need of a cats hunting skills or the dogs protection and we keep them, among others, as pets. As a consequence, pet supplements and healthcare became a considerable part of our economy. Furthermore, may people spend a lot of money for their pets and it is probably true that they often spend too much money which could be used in better ways. Therefore, I agree with this statement and cause this on the following reasons.

To begin with, lets have a look at dogs. There are numerous different kinds of dogs an all of them were breaded for special purposes and behind every dog stays its forefather; the wolf. Nevertheless dogs have lost most of they dangerous characteristics and became the best friend of men. On the other hand, dogs are accustomed to survive in wilderness, they do not need clothes, houses or even a bank account. Despite these facts, there are winter jackets available for dogs. Moreover, some of them are made by designers or covered with sprinkling stones, which makes them quite expensive. There are really owner who are willing to wrap their dogs in dolce&cabana jackets, even if the dog himself does not recognize that.

Second, animal health care has become a huge market, almost as extensive as human health care. Naturally, pets sometimes become ill and need our help. However, animals can not speak and we have to guess what they need or what they want. A veterinary always wants to save lives, as human doctors do. Whereas humans can disagree with a cure, a pet has to accept what the owner decides. Sometimes, I think, people try to save a live whereas it only enlarges the torture of the animal.

In a nutshell, there are various ways to spend money for pets. Undoubtedly, some money is worth it and the owner benefits as well as the pet. On the other hand, there are just a lot of useless items or cures for animals which are not worth it. As a result, there could be better uses for this money, depends on what 'better' means.