TPO 38: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans possess a wide range of characteristics that help them to distinguish themselves from other people. There are some intrinsic features and extrinsic features. Categorizing some of the features in one of these categories is controversial such as being a leader. While some people are inclined towards the idea that leadership comes naturally to people, others are against this claim. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that leadership is an acquired feature and everyone can possess this. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that people access to various sources of knowledge and educational programs that provide them with golden opportunities to broaden their scope of knowledge and be skillful in every area, leadership is no exception. There are countless TV programs, private courses, reliable books that tutor people to lead a group. If this feature is innate it should not be reachable through these valuable sources. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a teenager, I was painfully shy with an introverted personality, however, during college as we forced to participate in mandatory extra classes, I could learn how to be a good leader in one of these courses.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that there is no compelling evidence to prove leadership is an intrinsic feature. Although some findings might show the effect of inheritance on being a leader, none of them is convincing. Scientists have not so far found a gene or protein in human cells that influence these features. Moreover, If this characteristic is innate it should be transferred from father or mother to all of their children, however, all of us know someone who is famous for being great leadership among relatives or colleagues, while his/her children are shy and introverted or vice versa. For instance, children of many presidents and monarchies are submissive in contrast to their parents.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, I firmly support the idea that leadership is not an innate feature, it can be acquired through practice and education. In addition, if this feature is intrinsic it should be passed from generation to generation, while we can find leadership people with shy and introverted children.