TPO 41 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are the people who open the doors of life to us, and they still influence us most of all irrespective the fact that the world has changed significantly during the last decades. In this regard, personally, I am prone to believe that teachers are valued nowadays as much as they were in the past. I hold this opinion since we still learn more from them than from other people; and knowledge continues to remain as one of the most precious acquirements of the mankind.

To begin with, little has changed until now in the role of teachers in our society, and they are still the ones who help us explore the world the most. We study from our childhood to adulthood and gain knowledge and skills which are essential for both our professional and private life. Without getting educated we are not full members of a society based on the development of technology and merely all its spheres. That is why people who teach us are the most important ones, and, often, they are our role models. For instance, when I was young I was trying to copy the thoughts and behavior of my history teacher whose professionalism was astonishing. He was able to present any material in coherent and understandable manner, and he shaped in me love towards history. This kind of people will be always valued appropriately.

Additionally, without knowledge we can do little in our changing life and, therefore, we appreciate knowledge and knowledgeable people very much. This is explained by the fact that modern life is complicated and in order to succeed in any sphere one should be very intelligent. Furthermore, more strict requirements are being imposed on the level of intelligence since the competition among people becomes stronger. For example, I am a lawyer and I do realize that without getting education I would not be able to learn my living or to compete with others in the job market which becomes harsher and harsher. This, in turn, makes us very attentive to our tutors, professors as they are the ones who facilitate the process of our learning. In other words, the importance of knowledge determines our attitude towards our tutors.

To sum up briefly, we will always appreciate our teachers. Its explanation is twofold: first, because teachers open our eyes, and, second, since knowledge itself is a constant value.