TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Undoubtedly, people have always appreciated their teachers during history. As we all know, teachers have been doing a great job for people, but some factors such as technology, changed every thing. People specially students are more independent nowadays. Consequently they do not need a teacher that much. In my view, many factors are effected on this behavior changes.

First and foremost, knowledge was rare in the past. People didn't like to study that much in the past, because there were a few universities. Also, nobody cared about knowledge in the past. Most people were trying to make money for survive, so they didn't pay attention to expand science.

Furthermore, studying is changed today. Most students use computers and i pods to read something. Additionally, they almost use some online materials. Students are independent these days. During last years, many universities provide online courses. These online courses will have some valid certifications, so students do not need to be in touch with teachers. For instance, my sister- in-law used to teach many classes in the Irvine university. After those changes in universities that made them online, she told us: I have not seen any students during six month. These kinds of changes are harmful for the relationship between students and teachers.

Last but not least, people were more polite in the past. During last decades people learned to be impolite and say anything that they want. It is a kind of danger for humankind. I read an article in New York Times about this matter. Some scientist found out that some comedy movies have changed people's manners during last years.

To sum up, many factors are effected on human behaviors, but some of those factors are obvious to anybody that has a direct affect on people.