TPO 47

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no denying that people can know events happening around the world through the internet. I admit that there are many opinions about whether we should pay attention to these events even though they will not affect our daily lives. However, it is beneficial for us to know about these events, in my opinion. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, being aware of what is happening around the world helps us communicate with people from abroad. These days, the world is becoming globalized in terms of the economy. A lot of companies have to collaborate with companies overseas, and employees have to communicate with people whose backgrounds are different from ours. As a result, we need to know what events are happening around the world in order to understand their cultural values. For example, I am an engineer for an electronic device manufacturing company. In the development of our product, I had to communicate with an engineer from India. By knowing the latest news about India beforehand, I could soon build a good relationship with him. Consequently, we could make outstanding achievements in our development.

Second, we can sometimes be well-motivated by knowing the outstanding achievement of others. These days, many young people achieve successful outcomes in some fields such as sports, arts, and some academic subjects. Of course, these kinds of news rarely directly affect our daily lives, but they sometimes motivate us. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was at university, my major was physics. Although I was interested in physics, It was tough for me to understand the content of some classes. I was about to lose my motivation toward physics. However, I heard the news that a college student in the United States could solve a theory that had not been proved for many decades. I was really surprised at the news and, I began to think that I also want to achieve a successful outcome in physics. Consequently, I could regain my motivation toward physics, and I could graduate from the university with honor.

In conclusion, I feel that it is important for us to know what events are happening around the world regardless of their influence on our daily life. This is because it helps us communicate with others who have different cultural backgrounds from ours, and we can sometimes be well-motivated about what we are doing.