TPO- 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A big debate always takes place when it comes to considering the matter of how government should spend its revenue. It is claimed by some people that governments ought to provide more money to support arts than to athletics. However I strongly oppose this proposal.

First of all, athletics and arts are of great importance to a country. While arts can benefit people mentally, athletics can do advantages to people physically. Sponsoring Olympic teams helps to make people learn more about a particular sport, plenty opportunities will be offered to people. Sports equipment will be set up in the neighborhood, matches will be held every weekend. Consequently, people will get more exposure to sports and even get involved. Take Liverpool as an example, Liverpool is an England city famous for its football team. Football instantly became a popular sport in the area after the city sponsored the team, which greatly encouraged the citizens to play football. Every people in the city became a fantastic football player due to the investment of the local government.

In addition, the promotion of athletics not only helps the specific sport team to be popular but also enables the city to gain fame around the world. Since sport teams are always the symbol of a city, it represents the city and promotes the city to a bigger stage. Thus the popularity will pose a positive effect on building up the sense of pride to the citizens. For instance, people in Miami loves the Rocket, they are more than happy to see their favorite team wins a game, since therefore not only the basketball team but also the city will be more exposed to people throughout the world.

To sum up, I find it important to spend abundant money in athletics. Because improving athletics constructions can improve people's physical health and also help to build a sense of pride of the city among the citizens. That is to say, such practice benefit the city and the people in the city.