TPO37Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because people are busy doing so many different things, they do very few things well.

We are now living in a time, where world is much more faster than previous and people tend to enthusiastically advocate the importance of multitasking, It is generally appreciated to have the capability of performing disparate types of tasks in parallel. However, I personally think that, it might not be always beneficial to do different things if someone is not able to concentrate fully on all of his tasks. Therefore, I agree with the statement above and the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most compelling reasons.

First of all, taking responsibility of too many tasks at a same time creates a tremendous pressure on health and mind. Consequently, it would be hard to complete all of the tasks in hand efficiently. For instance, as a software engineer, I have to perform multiple kinds of jobs at a same time, like implement new feature, support release and fix issues, make documents, prepare training materials and attend in regular meetings. Sometimes I feel that, it is very difficult to manage all of these tasks and even in my free time, I have to think about all of the pending tasks. Thus, not only it effects my efficiency but also it has detrimental effect on my physical and mental health.

Furthermore, the most common problem of people is inability to assign priority of each tasks. It is crucial to prepare tasks that need to be performed and consider priority of each item. To make a schedule of each task helps one to complete his work with more efficacy. For example, who is planning to go abroad for higher study need to perform many tasks within a very short time. He has to prepare for GRE or TOEFL, study research papers, search for university which provide degree on his domain, prepare resume and other docs, manage money to apply etc, If he tries to do all of those things at a same time, it might results in lower performance in each category. It might happen that he gets lower score in TOEFL as he was too busy in online courses to prepare his study material. Hence, it is required to set priority and complete those tasks one after another.

Finally, rather than doing many things at a time, people should have make long term plan. It is not easy to take so many tasks at a time and finish them at once. If someone wants to look himself as an expert in some field, he should take a long term plan and continue learning different topics on that field. Thus after few years, he can show that he has a portfolio that would be highly appreciated by experts on this field.

On the other hand, some people might want to take 3-4 months planning to learn everything at a time, which would not be effective and consequently he can not achieve his goal.

In conclusion, contemplating all the above reasons, I agree with the statement that, doing so many things at a time degrades quality of work and it should be avoided for better future.