What are the merits and the demerits of wearing a uniform at school?

It is crystal clear that schools and students are extremely important entities in a society, which construct the future of society. Therefore, their problems and issues should be critical enough to be considered by authorities. One of the heated controversies about schools is whether it is better for students to wear a uniform in schools. This subject has its proponents and detractors having their own reasons and inferences. To conclude which group makes valid points, the merits and the demerits of wearing a uniform in schools are discussed hereunder.

One of its great advantages is equality. Every student from any social class wears the same clothes. Therefore, neither is there any discrimination against students on the basis of their parents’ financial status, nor their performance in their lessons is evaluated on the ground of every criterion other than their effort and intelligence. However, in my viewpoint, there is at least one school in any city district, particularly in developed countries in today's world; hence, students and their families enjoy virtually the same financial status. Another plus point about wearing a uniform in schools is that students of a certain school can be distinguished from those of other schools. This concept is vital when students have an accident, and people want to inform their parents or whoever knows them. As far as I am concerned, broadly, in the present-day world, students have a mobile phone, including their parents’ phone numbers and addresses.

The major drawback of wearing a uniform in schools is that it is an obligatory action. It is generally accepted that a mandatory action has more detrimental effects than beneficial ones. This compulsory action is so severe as to restrict students’ freedom. It is likely that there are a few students detesting the uniform of their schools. In addition, if students of a school wear the same clothes, the school’s environment will not colorful and vibrant, and it will look like a communist country which has illustrated their inefficiency throughout history. For these reasons, this obligatory action can adversely affect students’ spirits so severely that a few students who can be prosperous, influential persons sometime in the future hate education and are inclined to leave it.

To summarize, by taking the above-mentioned facts and reasons into account, I strongly subscribe to the view that the downside of wearing a uniform in schools outweigh its benefits. In the end, I do believe that if the authority in regions in which wearing a uniform is necessary for schools rescinded this rule, students’ performance would improve.