Which one do you think is the most important for high school teacher (age from 15 to 18)?

1) The ability to give students advice to plan for their future;

2) The ability to find which students need help and provide them with help;

3) The ability to encourage students to learn on themselves outside of the classroom.

Teachers in high school play important roles for the high school students. Teachers in the high school guild the students to know what their future should be, provide them with help, and teach them there are more things that could be learned out of the classroom. As far as I am concerned, knowing who need help and providing help are the most important thing for high school teachers.

Knowing who needs help shows the teachers care about the students all the time and providing help can make the students get out of the difficult situation. My friend Lily was not doing well in math since she was in primary school. Her math teacher in high school found she was not able to conduct the simplest calculation problem in a small quiz. The math teacher did not give her up and taught her step by step from the most basic knowledge. Now, Lily is a graduate student in the Mathematics major. Thanks to the math teacher in her high school, she is able to find the magic of math and greet her wonderful life.

Guiding high school students to choose for their future is also important for high school teachers but the teachers should leave some space for students to discuss this issue with their families. The success of students cannot be done without support from family. My friend is good at arts and he wanted to be an artist. However, his parents cannot give him any support in the art area but give him more opportunities in business. He accepted the opportunities from his parents and now he has a great job in Wall Street.

High school teachers should have the ability to let students know they should learn more from out of class. However, ensuring the students master what they should learn in school is more needed than learning more from out of class. The knowledge that was taught in high school is basic. Without that knowledge, students might misinterpret what they know from outside school. The “scientists” who did not get a high school degree always believe perpetual motion exists in the world. If they learned well in high school, they would know the perpetual motion against the most basic laws of physic.

To sum up, I believe the ability to find which students need help and help them is the most important for a high school teacher.