You are planning to study abroad. What do you think you will like and dislike about this experience? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Home is a dominating part of a person’s character. Some people stay at a place all their life, other finds a part of home anywhere they live, learning from any challenges they face. I think I would have both positive and negative attitude towards the experience.

First, I love exploring new places, therefore, it would be an opportunity to navigate myself beyond the reach of my own country. A new place is an open gateway to new culture, community and people, learning about them would broaden my perspective about life. The experience gained through this would help me improve my personality, by identifying similarities and differences in the behaviors of people in different countries.

Secondly, it would open up opportunity to work across the world and learn new languages. Studying abroad eradicates the fear of living away from family and homeland. Therefore, it gives opportunities to work anywhere in the world as well as courage to do so. It would help to rise through the ranks without the barrier of terrain.

On the other hand it would be a difficult transition from leaving my own country and tutelage of my parents affection to resettling in a foreign land. Learning their culture might be fun but adjusting to their lifestyle might take time. It is always difficult to be accepted in the society that has not nurtured you. I would miss the comfort and home cooked meal provided by my family. Getting homesick might be scary but a positive attitude towards change might help overcome the emotions.

Leaving home for college is a difficult task but leaving your country might be more challenging task that a person has to deal with. With a disciplined attitude and a positive outlook towards new opportunities, in my opinion will help me most to adjust and be accepted in the foreign land.