should companies emphasise their reputation rather than short term strategies?

The substantial influences of long-term reputation on marketing strategy have sparked a controversy amongst the advertisement agencies all around the world. Although specific arguments claimed that short term sales plan must be followed, a group of intellectuals debate otherwise and hold an opponent's view. I am highly inclined to accept that company's reputation plays a significant rule in long term policy. The agenda of this article is analyzing both sides and will lead to a legitimate conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why short term strategies are supported, but the most remarkable one lies in the fact that, discount products have been making a good revenue for a company. Based on a recent study, which has been conducted by a group of eminent economists revealed that, 80% of the annual net profit comes from Black Friday, Christmas, and mid-season sales. Hence, the profit and impacts of the short term marketing policies on companies total-income, share price, as well as shareholders sarisfaction can be seen with clarity.

Contrary to popular belief, there remain drawbacks clouded up the potential advantages of discounted products sales, but the most alarming one rooted in the fact that many people lost their trust on cheap goods. For example, Apple and Samsung flag-ship mobiles are the most expensive one in the global mobile market and have 67% of the total market all together for more than a decade. Moreover, it is recently alleged that good reputation guarantees long term revenue and brings loyal customers. Thus, well-known company can make marketing stategies based on its previous reputations.

To recapitulate, while there are several divergent opinions on both sides, my snetiment is that the marit of good reputaion takes more credence than short term strategies.