For a successful company, selling products depends more on company's reputation or it depends more on if they provide discount and free offers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, there is a controversial debate between people about the impacts of offering discount on company’s reputation. There are a great number of people who interpret the impacts of as thoroughly constructive, while others who hold an opponent’s view.In this essay, I elucidate my point of view by analyzing both sides of argument.

On the one hand, it is argued that changing a business to discounting model could lead to a negative perception about a company’s brand value in long-term. This is to say that a tremendous number of buyers value the product based on its price, so that if a company lowers its prices, they may think that the company’s products are no longer trustworthiness. Take the Adidas for example, the company faced an uphill struggle convincing people to purchase its products in 2014, which led to a market share erosion.

On the other hand, there are a great number of people who hold a different view and say that the companies that have discounted items have comparative advantage over the others. This may be attributed to the fact that proportional schemes could elude customers to go to the store to purchase the discounted items, but they may end up buying the other items such as accessories, which consequently boosts the company’s sales and popularity. Specifically, a research study conducted by Yale university in 2014 found that discounted items play a pivotal role in brand recognition.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that offering discount could have detrimental impact on company brand value, but it can also lead to a significant increase in the number of potential buyers. It is expected that companies take cognizance of these facts in order to achieve their goals and objectives.