Television has two roles: to inform and entertain. Explain which of these roles you see as important. To what extent do you think that TV today performs these roles in an effective way? Support your point of view with observations or examples.

Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged that the television is playing a more and more important role in our daily life. While some people believe that the importance of TV news is to inform people the things which happening in the world, but others advocate that TV programs only provide the entertainment. As far as I am concerned, the function of TV is just one of many leisure activities.

People who emphasize the importance of informative are primarily focused on the information can be notified immediately. They advocate that TV news allows you to know what is going on in the world without going out. Nevertheless, this argument does not hold water. This is because that, with the widespread use of smartphones, people can get the latest information more faster in anytime and anywhere without having to stay home to watch TV news.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that the entertainment on TV is more significant than other features it has. The main justification of this view is that when people finish their busy work and return to their sweet home, they need to release heavy pressure and have a desire for relaxation. TV entertainment programs such as talk shows and variety shows offer the most appropriate method.

In a nutshell, while this controversial topic never fails to attract the public attention, we may safely reach the conclusion that entertainment is the most important function of TV in today's daily life.