Many among us like to blame violence and immorality in the media for a "decline in morals" in society. Yet these people seem to have lost touch with logic. Any objective examination shows that our society is far less violent or exploitative than virtually any society in the past. Early humans murdered and enslaved each other with astonishing regularity, without the help of gansgta rap or Jerry Bruckheimer films.

Assignment: Do violence and immorality in the media make our society more dangerous and immoral?

When an enraged man enters a school with a fully loaded automatic weapon, or when a teenager bludgeons another for looking at him wrong, they like to blame the films they 've been watching, the music they used to enjoy and the video games they were fond of playing. Is this actually the case, or is society simply taking the easy way out instead of questioning itself for blame? I'd say so. I shall explain.

People do like to blame films and music for acts of violence in society, but the most blame is clearly fixed on video games. It is true that too much exposure to video games of violent nat...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.