Unless we actually reach our goals, they are meaningless. Goals clarify our ambitions—an award, a title, a

prize—and help us focus on only what is necessary. By dedicating ourselves to the achievement of our goals,

we choose how we spend our most valuable resources: our time and our effort. Our accomplishments prove that

time and effort were wisely invested, and our failures prove their waste.

Assignment:

Do goals have value only if they are achieved? Plan and write an essay in which you develop your point

of view on these issues. Support your position with reasoning and examples taken from your reading, studies, experience, or observations.

Whenever one watches a game or quiz show on television, one will see that these shows are full of people who have failed, and who say that the actual pleasure was to take place in the competition. According to them,a goal has meaning regardless of whether or not it has been achieved. Yet, when we take a quick glance at the business world, we clearly see that it is all about the goal, and failure to achieve it is almost synonymous to unemployment. So, is it the goal that is precious, or is it the process of trying to achieve it that actually pleases us? I think this is a question that might hav...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.