1. The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author advises that any business firm seeking the prosper should hire the employees with less than 6 hours of sleep per night. This is the advice which cannot be accepted as it stands; indeed, all the rearing assumptions for this conclusion are skeptical and require further explanation.

The first issue with the prompt is with the current study which is done in Mentain advertising executives; indeed, there is no data about the type of implemented study to verify the accuracy of the finding. For instance, if the study is observation base, there should be exact value about the duration of observation, observed situation, or considered case studies; or if the study is questioner based, there should be a copy of the askes question and methods of evaluation of data. In the questioner base study, there is the feasibility of misunderstanding of the question, or the case studies do not response the question frankly. Furthermore, even if the conducted study was based on the well-organized method and there is no doubt about the concluded data, the giving weigh to the amount of sleep as the sole reason of the success of this firm is also unbelievable. Since there the type of success and effects of other factors on that specified success are overlooked. Therefore, this study and its conducted result are not logical to overgeneralized its finding to whole firms.

The second problem is with the second mentioned studies over the advertisement firms, in which all the employees with fewer than six hours sleep a day are the good candidate for flourishment and profit of the company. In fact, there is no exact data about the population of the considered case studies, since from the scientific perspective the accuracy and logicality of research increases as the number of considered samples are higher and indicator of all population. Maybe, these studies only highlighted the people who can withstand the short resting duration, and this category is the only one-third of all population. Or these studies only considered the younger generation who are energic and are profitable for the company; however, the real cases cover both youth and elder people with the same proportion. Consequently, this finding is not a general benchmark of the entire population and is not valid and logic until there will be exact data about the considered case studies and their similarities to the real population.

Finally, the writer overgeneralized the findings from various advertisement firms to whole business firms. Maybe this policy is effective for the advertisement agents and their working forces; however, it will not responsible for other business too. As long as, there is a difference between the occupations and their required criteria from the employees, one succeed method in one field cannot be effective for others. For example, the pharmacy stores which requires force for its the night-shifts, an employee who is the night owl is suitable for this position and even the 6 hours sleep is more than the required standard for this affair.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned clues about the considered assumptions explicitly depict the shakiness of those assumptions. This advice can be verified if the author addresses the suspicious over the conducted study in Mentian advertising executives, and the similarity of other studies with the public population. Furthermore, this study requires to verify that the feat in the advertainment agencies will lead the same outcomes on the other businesses.