41. A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, howe

The author of this passage concludes that bicyclist feel safer when they are wearing helmets, which lead to more accidents and injuries. As arguments, author uses the results of a ten-year national study about effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling and number of bicycle-related accidents in the same period of time. As a conclusion, author propose less encourage bicyclist to wear helmet and educate more about safety. While author’s argument and conclusion may seem true, there are some flaws and loopholes in his or her logic.

First of all, author as an argument provides statistics, that bicycle-related accidents in a past ten years increased by 200 percent, while author gives no information about number of bicyclist in those years. It is quite possible, that amount of bicyclist increased by 500% while amount of incidents increased only by 200%. To rely on this argument it would be better to have not just amount of accidents, but its proportion to number of bicyclist.

Secondly, author assumes that wearing helmets gives more confidence to bicyclist and that why they are getting into incident. Nerveless, author provides no confirmation that it really so. What if increased amount of cars led to more bicycle-related incidents? Or pedestrians become to careless and they are main reason of incidents? Some data about incidents can answer this question, but author did provide it, thus his or her assumption that bicyclist take more risks is unwarranted.

Finally, author concludes, that when government will less encourage people wear helmet and focus more on educating about bicycle safety it will reduce amount of serious injuries in bicycle-related incidents. In fact, the result can be opposite. While knowledge about safety is important, it is the protective gear such as helmets prevent severe injuries and even death. Without it people can get more damages in an accidents.

As a result, author’s argument lacks additional information, so more data is required in order to prove authors opinion.