According to a poll of 200 charitable organizations, donations of money to nonprofit groups increased by nearly 25 percent last year, though not all charities gained equally. Religious groups gained the most (30 percent), followed by environmental groups (23 percent), whereas educational institutions experienced only a very small increase in donations (3 percent). This poll indicates that more people are willing and able to give money to charities but that funding for education is not a priority for most people. These differences in donation rates must result from the perception that educational institutions are less in need of donations than are other kinds of institutions.

In this argument the author concludes that the reason why the educational institutions among charitable organizations gained less money is that they are perceived in less need of donations than other kinds of institutions. To justify this conclusion, the author cites a poll of 200 charitable organizations that shows the 25 percent increase in donations of money to nonprofit groups during last year is not equally distributed among nonprofit groups and the educational institutions have gained the least portion of these donations. He also points out that although more people are willing and able to give money to charities, but funding for education is not a priority for most people. A careful scrutiny to these findings reveals that they lend little credence to this argument for several respects.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that the least portion of the amount of donations demonstrates the least importance or priority among people. Since, there is the possibility that some of the educational institutions which have received charitable funds are not included in this poll. In other words, the results of this poll even if it is a fair poll without discriminating against any groups can not be attributable to the whole nation since people of different areas might have different tastes and priorities.

In addition, the number of educational institutions might be very little in comparison with the other kinds of institutions and lower received charitable funds can not be due to its less importance. Without considering and ruling out this and other possible factors the author’s assumption that the charitable organizations are considered among people unequaly would not be substantially reasoned.

Furthermore, even if people put less emphasis on providing fund to education institutions rather than other kinds of institutions it can not be concluded these organizations are in less need of money. The more motivation and desire among people to donate the religious groups and environmental groups might be based on these organizations’ persuasive advertisement and strong calling for need while the educational institutions are tenuous in expressing their demands or are under less support of the government.

In sum, the author fails to convince me that the differences in donation rates demonstrate that the educational institutions are considered in less need of donations than other kinds of institutions. To bolster this argument, the author must provide dear information about the demographic profile of the poll’s respondents and the number of educational charitable organizations mentioned in this poll. To better assess the strength of the argument he also must points out other factors that reveals the general number of educational charitable organizations in comparison with the whole charitable organizations. It would also be helpful to know the other possible reasons why people are more interested in helping other charitable organizations rather than the educational ones.