According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions

A new cheating prevention strategy adopted by Groventon college shows significant decrease in number of reported cheating cases. However, before applying this strategy to other colleges and universities additional questions needs to be answered, like how the number of cases of cheating has been validated, how the survey has been performed and how students feel about new policy. Otherwise, it’s not entirely clear how effective the new strategy actually is and if there aren’t any downsides of applying it for relations between students.

Firstly, the success of the policy is not properly evaluated - they compare number of cases reported by teachers before to cases reported by students after applying the policy. However, it’s possible that students reported less and less just because they established some agreements between each other since they are interested party. The college could perform a few revisions by teachers in order to estimate the real amount of cheating or at least make it comparable with old numbers.

Secondly, the students’ survey might not be reliable. It is possible that they just hide the fact of global cheating right now in order to cover each other. Alternative explanation is that it’s hard to estimate properly if you would cheat in a particular situations. The survey performed might already addressed these problems, but then its methodology should be also included in the report. The number the college tried to estimate via the survey - how many students who cheated before stopped cheating after the college set up the honor code - could be again estimated more precisely by using the additional validations by teachers.

Finally, there is a possibility that the established policy undermined students relationships, generated an atmosphere of suspicion and distrust. While addressing the cheating issue, it might hurt the college image and even students performance. The college is well advised to perform another survey and possibly psychologist consultations in order to understand the effect of the policy on students apart from cheating rate.

To conclude, the report appears to be unconvincing and several important questions needs to be an answered first before applying the same strategy at other places, because the honor code could be ineffective at best and hurt more than help.