According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions

The author of the passage suggests to implement the honor code system the Groveton College adopted to other colleges and universities. While the proposal may sound plausible, the argument is based on several unproven assumptions and lacks the necessary information regarding the method efficiency and practicality.

First, the author assumes that the significant drop during the five years in cheating reports was due to the advantageous honor code influence. Indeed, the reporting reduced by twice the amount from twenty one to fourteen. However, students might have lost the feeling of excitement of looking out for the fellow cheaters and weren't interested in reporting anymore. Also, the students who made a majority of reports could have been the same people from year to year. Some of them graduated during these years, hence, the drop of the reports. The more detailed look on the reports and their authors is needed to conciser implementing the honor code to other schools.

Second, the author omits important information regarding the survey. For example, how many students were questioned? In order to base the argument on this results, the author should make sure that at least half of the students participated in the survey. Moreover, it is crucial to know were there any attempts to validate the survey? For instance, to look closely at the subsample of the interviewed students and to check whether they, indeed, used the honor code and cheated less. Otherwise, there is no evidence students told the truth in the survey, or no one wanted to admit they have been cheating even after the school have adopted the honor code.

Finally, there are no indications in the passage that the method had worked in the first place. As the author states, in the first year the honor code was implemented, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating. However, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The author assumes this discrepancy indicates that the method started to work right away and, hence, there were less cheating students that year. But other possible explanation is that students haven't been able to account for the sufficient amount of cheaters, making the proposed methodology unpractical and useless.

To conclude, the author has failed to make a cogent and concise argument. Without the necessary information the argument sounds specious and misleading. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthen by the more detailed survey summary and some insight on the method background and effectiveness.