According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising

While it may be true that if people are more aware of the good reviews of the Super Screen movies, they might be more interested in watching those movies, the author's argument does not make a cogent case for increasing the viewership of the Super Screen movies. It is easy to understand that Super Screen movies needs to reach larger audience but the argument given is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, not strong enough to convince the management to allocate greater share of its budget to advertising.

Firstly, the author here assumes that there is a direct relationship between positive reviews of the movies and number of viewers. There may be case that the Super Screen movies are not made for normal audience and only targeted to audience of specific genre. If this is the case, more positive reviews are not enough to increase viewership of the movies. The viewing or subscribing cost of the movies may also be high, which may be a strong reason for lower viewership. So the Super Screen Movie Company should either make movies targeted at larger audience and lower their movie viewing costs before considering increased budget in advertising.

Furthermore, the author has said positive reviews have increased assumes that it has increased to a good number. Rather they might just have increased relatively. The ratio of good reviews before last year may be 1 in 10 and now may have increased to 3 in 10, which is still bad and thus the viewership is low for the Super Screen Movies. In which case advertising can also have a negetive effect than expected. The author needs to acertain that the positive review are enough to attract more viewers to view the movie.

Finally, the author assumes that the company can positively divert the budget to advertising and allocate a greater share to it. But the company may be low on funds and so no more budgets can be allocated to advertising. If budget is diverted from other departments like movie making or other, this may cause lowering the quality of the movie, which should have been the primary priority. If this is the case then company should find a way to make effective advertising in the same budget.

In short, the author's argument is one of the pottential way to increase viewership of the movies, the above assumptions cannot be directly made and would have to be properly considered before actually the managing group can take a decision on allocating a larger budget share to advertising department.