“Advertising with Cable Communication Corp. is a great way to increase your profits. Recently the Adams Car Dealership began advertising with Cable Communications and over the last 30 days, sales are up 15% over the previous month. Let us increase your profits, just as we did for Adams Cars.”

The argument that advertising with cable communication corp. is a great way to increase profits and proofing this statement by showing a company that used this way and has increased its profit may seem logical at first glance. The author makes a valid argument, one that could be correct if its premises were true. However, the claim relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

The author assumes that the 15 percent sales increase of Adams Car Dealership is because of its advertisement in the local cable company. In fact, the increase in sales may be irrelevant to the advertisements or the Car Dealership Company may have had other promotional activities before and along its advertising in the local television that made the sales increase in the last month. Suppose, for example they had reduced sales price or offered some extra services to customers that may increase costumers satisfaction or even the company may had some managerial changes that lead to process improvement or new products and these attracted costumers.

The cable communication Corp. assumes that because advertising in the local cable television was effectiveness for the Car Dealership Company it is effectiveness for other companies too. In fact, the truth is that it may have been good for the Car dealership company but it may not be suited for others. Other companies may have to look for alternative ways to promote their goods. Also it must be considered that the efficiency of the advertisement is important too and the concept that every advertisement reflects on people differs. In this case the author needs more evidence to support his claim. For example the Cable Corp. must show numbers of companies that their sales increased by advertising in the local television or have some customer surveys that indicates that the television advertisements lead to their purchase.

In conclusion the cables corporations claim is not totally wrong that the local advertisement effects profit. After all, advertisement has a great effect on people’s mind and might change costumer behavior and lead to increase in sales. However, to support and strengthen this argument the author needs to bring more evidence to prove his claim.