Analysis of ArgumentThe following advice was given to a politician by his political consultant: It is true that 200 apartment renters protested in the rain about the elimination of rent control regulation. However, there are 20,000 renters in the entire c

The advice given by the consultant is well meaning, perhaps to help calm the nerves of the politician. However, his or her argument is founded on tenuous assumptions and is rife with logical flaws which we will explore in details as follows.

Firstly, the validity of the consultant's argument is dependant on us taking his or her quoted figures on face value. Is the proclaimed number of 200 renters accurate? We would need to know where and how the consultants number were gathered. If it is shown that there was a political bias in masking the actual number of people who showed up at the protest, then the validity of the argument is seriously undermined.

Secondly, the flaw the the political consultant makes is the unstated assumption that the 19,800 people's inaction, in this case participation in a live protest, equates to them being fine with the elimination of rent control in the city. Participating in a public protest is usually the loudest and most direct form of protest, but it is not the only method of protest. Most of the people of the city might prefer to voice their disagreement with the elimination of rent control via other mediums, such as in newspaper articles or online writings.

Also, the political consultant acknowledges the fact that it was raining during the protest. If the quoted figure of 200 protestors is accurate, this could help explain why the turnout for the protest was so poor. It is reasonable that due to adverse weather condition, people were not keen about the idea of protesting in the rain. Or perhaps most of the people in the city consists of elderly people who simply couldn't go out in the rain to voice their disagreement due to health and safety concerns.

As it stands, the consultant's argument is weak and to bolster his or her claim that the elimination of rent control is not a problem, the consultant could perhaps conduct a survey with the 20,000 renters in the city. Unless the survey results show that the majority of people are in agreement with the elimination of rent control, claiming that the elimination is not a problem based on the turnout of the crowd is clearly a stretch.

In conclusion, the consultant's argument is based on weak line of reasonings and flawed assumptions. Unless he or she supports the conclusion with solid evidences, it is unlikely that his or her claim will encourage the politician.