Analyze an argument

The following appreared in ma memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Cafe, a small, local offe shop in the downtown area of a small american city:

"We must reduce overhead here at the caf`e. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we wont be paying for utility bills, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business with out having to eliminate jobs."

The arugument seems to be very strait forward and convincing in saving money and saving jobs at the initial glance filled with lot of assumptions and guesswork. Owner is under assumption that all the customers will show up when they are open. He is not considering the loss of business associated with his decision.

There are few additional factors need to be analyzed before concluding reducing hours of operation is the best course. If majority of the customers let us say more than 50 percent show up before they go to work as people like to grab a cup of coffe before they start their day, that will change caluculations enitirely against the idea of openijng the shop at 8 a.m.Let us assume may be not majority of the people show up before 8 a.m. but say 15 percent show up. Even that is significant loss to the caf`e.

The important point is to analyze the customers if the afe depends more on people going to work then they can keep the hours as they are right now and close completely on the weekend. As the customers who show up in the weekend is only neighborhood families or occational travelers.

The owner can consider other saving measures like using energy effecient appliances, reduced staff during the non peak hours of operation to save and reduce the expenses when the cafe is not generating enough revenue. Also promoting events like music and reading in the cafe to promote and attract addiotional customers.

Closing and reducing is not the best way to attract addiotional customers and serve the existing customers.Increasing the bsuiness using the resources effeicently, investing in energy efficient technologies is better way to succeed.