"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that Gourmet is a new line of coffee for Apex corporation and he introduces the company’s strategies to make this type of coffee on of the top sellers in the coffee market. This author’s argument does not make a congest case for the selling operation and the argument is rife with many holes and weak assumptions.

First of all, the author states that the new Apex’s product will be introduced into major supermarkets without any advertising. We all know that the majority of people tend not to try new unknown products especially when there are many other great products for the same species. In addition, the author assumes that the major supermarket will accept to be a part of this operation without saying what the markets will benefit if they accept to introduce Gourmet. Moreover, the author says that the product will be available just in major supermarket. What about people who buy thier products from local markets?.

Second, the author assumes that after the success in the first step, the company will launch advertising campaign using radio and television. What about people who do not watch TV or listen to radio. Would it be better to use additional types of advertising like newspapers and street’s advertising items?. Moreover, the author again assumes that restaurants will accept to introduce Gourmet. What will be the benefits for these restaurants when they can still depending on top known coffee products?

Finally, the author assumes that after that main two steps, Gourmet will be one of the top sellers in coffee markets although he does not says what is unique about Gourmet and what are the advantages of Gourmet over other well-known coffee products. In addition, It will take a lot of time for Gourmet to gain a good reputation and be popular and ranked one of the top coffee products but we do not know if Apex can stand the cost for all that period that may take years.

In sum, It will be better if Apex provides more information about the budget for the advertising operation. In addition, to cover all types of people, Apex should use other types of advertising especially for people who are not fans for TV or radio. Moreover, Apex should guarantee that the restaurants and major supermarkets will accept to introduce their new product and help to spread it by ,for example; giving them amount of money for every items they sel