Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In the above extract, it is described that the arctic deer which live on the islands in Canada’s arctic region travels from island to island in search of food by walking over the sea which is covered with ice. Now, it is observed that the deer population has declined significantly in recent years and that this decline is coinciding with global warming. So, a conclusion is drawn claiming that the population has declined because of disappearing of the paths traversed by deer. The argument may appear to be plausible, but, it is based only on assumptions and hence, evidences are required to prove what is asserted.

Firstly, the fact that there can be several other factors causing the declination in deer population is completely ignored. It is possible that there is some kind of epidemic spread in the area which is causing the death of deer in large numbers and hence, leading to decline in their population. If this is the case, then the argument will become baseless and so, it is required to investigate this aspect as well.

Secondly, the report is based on the observation of the local hunters. It is possible that the hunters have tried looking for deer in warmer regions and the deer have moved to further north. The subjective experiences of the hunters cannot be taken as a reliable source for such assessment. It is also possible that the number of deer of one region may actually have declined while the other regions still have consistent and satisfactory population. Hence, a more rigorous, a more accurate survey is required on the matter before coming to any conclusions.

The argument continues to stumble however even if deer populations are proven to decreasing. It claims that global warming trends making sea ice to melt are the direct cause when the argument is not supported. There only exists a correlation between the two events as the argument states that the events coincide at the same moment. While it is plausible, there could be many causes and those other causes could be much more important than the global warming trends. One plausible explanation could be an upsurge of predators such as grey wolves and bears that efficiently hunt arctic deer and cull their numbers. From a fundamental understanding of the difference between correlation and causation and numerous examples, it is shown that the argument's claim is not adequately explained at all and can much better be explained by other theories.

In conclusion it can only be said that the argument is only based on a certain assumption and severely lacks evidence. Several explanations can be given that are satisfactory and more likely to occur. So, a more thorough and elaborated research is required to support the initial premise of the argument and a linkage between the two events needs to be proven and elucidated as well.