Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Recent reports from locals are suggesting that arctic deer may be declining in population. While this may concern the local hunters who reported the information, it cannot be confirmed nor denied without a proper investigation into the accuracy of the claim. Evidence and information regarding the number of dear, the melting of the ice, the hunters themselves, and the plantlife are required to properly evaluate the argument.

First, it is important to note that no specifics have been provided by the local hunters as to the number of deer. It is quite possible that the deer simply have been on one island that the hunters have not frequented as of late. Not knowing how many deer are actually out there prevents an argument of declining arctic deer to ever gain traction. If evidence came back revealing that the deer have not suffered a significant decline, the argument would be proved invalid. If, however, the evidence showed a decline, there are still holes in the argument that must be addressed.

For example, it is said that the ice is melting due to global warming, which may be preventing the deer from their normal mirgration patterns. Evidence is required to prove that their migration patterns have in fact been affected by such a melting of ice, as the argument currently does not provide this information. Without knowing where the ice has melted, it is unclear whether the deer have been significantly affected. Furthermore, if the ice has melted in certain areas but not others, it is possible the deer have adapted their migration patterns to new ice paths, consequently making it harder for the hunters to find them. This information could destroy the argument of a decline in arctic deer if the evidence came back indicating an insignificant correlation between ice and potential migration patterns.

Additionally, the hunters must be investigated as they have a particular invested interest in the problem. It is possible that the hunters overzealously attacked arctic deer and now the deer population has suffered a significant drop. The very fact that the hunters are the ones who reported this issue reveals that they have searched for them in the hopes of likely killing them. Not knowing the effect the hunters have on the decline in deer population allows room for error in determining the exact cause of the deer disappearence.

Finally, evidence regarding the plantlife must be provided to determine the cause of the decline in population. If, for example, the specific plants that these arctic deer consume is no longer as prevelant as in years past, then the deer population would suffer a decline; the supply and demand of plants and deer must be evaluated. It is possible that the ice melting has nothing to do with the decline in population, as the food source has become inadaquate to support the population of deer.

In conclusion, the argument proposed does not account for numerous other explanations reguarding the supposed decline in arctic deer population. Without evidence to prove the fallacious nature of the other explanations, it is unclear what the true cause of the deer decline is. If the evidence were to be provided, however, regarding the hunters, plants, ice, and deer population, then the explanation proposed in the argument may be properly evaluated. It is possible that all of the additional explanations explored above might be disproved with additional investigation, which would help validate the original explanation. However, without the evidence it cannot be said with certainty that the deer population is declining due to disrupted migration patterns at the hands of melting ice.